Uploading 3D models to Shared Space
You can share your 3D models with partners by uploading them on Shared Space, the EngView cloud service where your teammates and customers can view the model, and then get back to you with comments. You upload the 3D model directly from either the EngView software or Adobe Illustrator, and then send an EngView-generated URL to your fellow workers and customers. This page explains the upload procedure.
I. Log-In Credentials for Shared Space
To be able to upload 3D models, use your account for engview.com. If you already have an account, skip this section, and go to Section II: To upload a 3D model. If you do not have an account, follow the steps in this section to have EngView create an account for you.
To create an account
- If you do not have an account, go to Shared Space (opens in a separate browser tab) and follow the registration process.
- EngView creates an account for you and sends you an email, notifying you about the account and prompting you to set yourself a password.
- Follow the link in the confirmation email, and set your Shared Space password.
- When done, use your email and the password to log on to Shared Space.
top of page
II. To upload a 3D model (EngView / Adobe Illustrator)
- After you have set up your 3D model in the state in which you want to show it to partners, you proceed to upload it. You can upload from either EngView or Adobe illustrator. Consider your situation:
- From EngView: On the 3D toolbar, click Upload 3D Drawing to Shared Space
.
- From Adobe Illustrator: In the EngView 3D panel, click
.
The Upload to Shared Space dialog box appears.
Uploading a new 3D model or replacing an existing one
- In Model name, type the name with which the 3D model will appear on Shared Space. You can change the name in Shared Space after the upload.
- Consider your situation:
- To upload the 3D model as a new one, click the Upload as a new 3D model option. After uploading the structure for the first time, save the project. Saving the project lets you replace the project on Shared Space later.
- To upload the model replacing its earlier version on Shared Space, click the Replace an existing 3D model option. Then, in the drop-down list, select the 3D model that you want to replace. NOTE: You can replace only models uploaded by you.
- In Status, enter the status with which you want the model to appear to the partners. You can choose from the following statuses: New, Uppdated, Approved, Redesign, and Closed.
- In Add Comment, type notes related to the model.
- To make the uploaded 3D model compatible for viewing in an Augmented Reality environment, click the Enable Augmented Reality view check box.
Setting up the 3D model for upload
- In 3D Scene Options area, you set the phases of the 3D drawing that will be included in the upload, as well as at which phase the file will open. The options:
- Animation From The animated sequence begins from the phase set here.
- To The animated sequence ends with the phase set here.
- Start at Sets the phase that the 3D model starts with.
IMPORTANT: The phase starts at the selected phase's end state. That is, if you want the animation to start at the beginning of a phase, in Start at select the name of the previous phase: its end state coincides with the initial state of the phase you need. --End-- indicates the end state of the phase set in To.
- To upload your 3D model as a single scene, click Still scene. The 3D model shows a still scene of a selected state of the folding sequence. The end state of the phase is displayed.
- To export the model's measure lines, click the Export measure lines check box.
Authorizing users to view your models
You proceed by authorizing who you want to be able to view the uploaded 3D model.
- Consider your situation:
Uploading
- To send the 3D model to EngView Shared Space, click the Upload button
. EngView then does two things:
- Uploads the 3D model to Shared Space.
- Generates a URL to the model and displays it in URL.
- (Optional) To view the 3D model as your customers will view it on Shared Space, click Preview
.
- To copy the model's URL, click Copy URL
, and then send it to partners.
- Click Close.
top of page